Home > blogging > Sun Setting on Paul Roberts on PR

Sun Setting on Paul Roberts on PR

February 21, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

For a variety of personal and professional reasons, I decided that I will end this blog in June of this year. There is still lots of unfinished business and there are lots of interesting conversations still to be had, but I’ll be signing off of this forum by summer.

Blogging has been a fascinating experience and I’ve made lots of new friends and learned much in the process. These friendships and lessons I’ll take with me long beyond my final post.

I never wanted to have one of those blogs that just faded away without any notice or reason, which is why I’ve put an expiration date on this endeavor.

Before the sun sets on this blog, I’ll continue to speak up about what is right and wrong in our industry. If you wanted to comment on any of my posts about how out of my mind I am, you better do it soon. June will be here all too soon.

Photo by my beautiful wife

  1. February 21, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Say it ain’t so!

    To be completely honest, I’ve been having this same idea in my mind, as I have transitioned from PR to higher education and alumni relations work. I still really like PR but find myself a little on the outskirts when it comes to the knitty-gritty details of the profession these days. I’m also avoiding a change because I like my blog and Twitter handle too much to let them go, so I may have to find a way to work my “pink” theme into a higher education blog…

    So, until June, I plan to keep reading your posts, bugging you on Twitter, and making you chortle 😉

    • February 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm

      That is interesting. To be honest, I can’t say I’m surprised. You know I think you do a great job on your blog, but I also know it is difficult when you are not working in the industry day-to-day.

      I hope you keep with it, but I’ll still read Pink’s Guide to Higher Ed or whatever you call your next creation.

      Thank you as always for the kind words. As I keep reminding myself lately, change is good. And, we’ll always have Twitter. 🙂

  2. February 21, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Paul — This news is completely fitting with the anarcho-revolutionary aesthetic at work in PRAS. My hope is that you’ll be forming an underground cell to continue to attack “the system” at it’s most corrupt and counter-revolutionary points. To the barricades, comrade.

    Viva la revolucion!
    Che Nahil

    • February 21, 2012 at 3:55 pm

      Thank you sir. I’ll be sure to call you when I need a general for the uprising. Moving on from the blog is just like our days working together, as much as I enjoyed promoting streaming opera radio, there comes a time to move on. Actually, bad example. Cheers.

  3. Jules
    February 21, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    This is sad. It makes me feel bad. But, for you I am glad. And the fact that you are subtly pointing out that blogging isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be and that the effort can be exhausting with minimal benefits, is rad.

  4. February 21, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    As usual Jules, you said it better than I ever could. Seriously, it has been a great deal of fun, but I just don’t want to be one of those people that just slowly stops blogging. I guess in reality, I just wanted to make sure that I go out on my own terms. Maybe after a short retirement, I’ll come back and form the PR Network where PT bloggers can find a home.

    Talk to you soon. -Paul

  5. February 21, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Oh darls, sad news indeed, but I wouldn’t recommend appointing Che Nahil as a general – you’ll be out of beer before the week is done!!! I hope this isn’t the end of blogging for PR, maybe a transtion to something else? xxxxxx

    • February 22, 2012 at 10:07 am

      That is very kind of you to say. I’m sure I’ll be around in same form or fashion. Good point about Che Nahil, by the way. If I go the revolution route, it may need to be BYOB. Talk soon.

  6. February 22, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Woah. Crushed. Just became acquainted and what a fleeting experience. Will you stay on Twitter, visit once in awhile? Say hi at my house and lend your expertise? I see you’ve been at it awhile…so sorry that a voice like yours will not be heard. #Sad

    • February 22, 2012 at 10:06 am

      Now, that is the nicest thing anyone has said to me. You’ll see I have a hard time keeping my opinions to myself. This move will allow me more time to read and comment on your blog. I’ll still be around.

      Thanks again for the kind words.

  7. March 5, 2012 at 4:30 am

    Blogging is a lot of work, but it’s also fun. And addictive! I’m putting my money that you’ll be back….maybe a new blog with a montage of topics not solely focused on PR.

  8. April 16, 2012 at 7:52 am

    Quick update…because a few people have asked if I’ve already checked out for good, I thought I’d just post a quick comment to let people know that you haven’t gotten rid of me yet. I’ll have a handful of posts coming between now and when I sign off in June.

    I honestly can’t express enough how much I appreciate all the kind comments and messages I’ve received recently.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

