Home > PRAS > PR Undefined and PRAS Born

PR Undefined and PRAS Born

February 18, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

The public relations industry needs to redefine itself. It has an opportunity to do so, but it is letting that opportunity and the industry’s interest in the project, die due to some combination of arrogance and ignorance.

The failed project won’t be rehashed here. If you are interested in additional background, read Frank Strong‘s take. He is one of the most passionate and articulate folks fighting for a real definition for PR.

During a recent online conversation on the topic, I let my emotions get the best of me. Here is an abridged version of my comment posted at SpinSucks.

There are lots of well thought out and articulate opinions about why, PR should be re-defined, what is wrong with the current process and what should be done next. This isn’t one of those. This is raw emotion from a PR guy that has been in the industry almost 20 years, has had little use for PRSA and now finds himself embarrassed by this entire process.

There are lots and lots of PR people that don’t know this conversation (defining PR) is happening and there are even more that don’t care. I’m now in the don’t care category.

I agree that PR should be redefined. I agree that redefining PR is difficult. I agreed that this is a good and noble cause. But, as of right now, I’m officially out.

No matter the final outcome, I will not get behind any definition the PRSA comes up with.

I don’t need it. I don’t want it and I will not accept it. You don’t speak for me. I only wish I were ever a paying member of PRSA, so I could publicly demand my money back.

Looking back, do I wish I took a moment to calm down and write a more thoughtful comment. NO! Sometimes emotion is called for, but, upon further reflection, I may have been too hard on the PR society. So, I’ve decided it would be best to turn anger into something positive.

Realizing that there are lots of PR people that have no other organized ‘society’ to turn to, I’m launching the PRAS – Public Relations Alternative Society. Full organization charter still to be defined, but if you are a frustrated PR professional looking to join with like minded folks, please feel free to consider yourselves members of the PRAS.

Public Relation Alternative Society on Twitter @PR_Alt

Photo by arztsamui

  1. February 19, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    Pretty bold Paul! Take a lot of work to get an association off the ground, but certainly admire anyone willing to seriously undertake the endeavor! Thanks for the kind words – I hope they make a difference!

  2. February 19, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Paul, good thoughts from a PR pro who cares like so many of us.
    Homer Simpson and I offered up our jargon-free definition of public relations in my latest post. We’re both willing to become charter members in PRAS. Best regards.
    Jeff

  3. February 23, 2012 at 12:12 am

    PR hasn’t been defined……. so PRAS has born…….

    Bensie Dorien

    prcompanionpr@gmail.com

    http://www.prcompanion.com

  1. February 18, 2012 at 5:29 pm
  2. March 17, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

