Home > blogging > PR33 – Top PR / Communications Blogs 2011

PR33 – Top PR / Communications Blogs 2011


A list of top PR blogs – how original!? Yeah, I know this has been done before and other lists have been compiled much more scientifically, but this blog is about sharing opinions, so here (in my opinion with input from many of you) are the 2011 PR33 – the top PR / Communications bloggers.

Notes and disclaimers: These are not ‘just’ PR people on this list. public relations needs to continue to expand its reach to include social media and core marketing disciplines, so you’ll see that reflected in this list.

While I was willing to accept cash for placement on this list, no one was willing to ‘donate’ so; I can honestly say that I received no monetary gain from including anyone on this list. Truth be told, I know some of these people and have some level of professional / personal relationships with some of them. If you have any questions regarding my motivation feel free to ask, but I’ve made note where I thought is was necessary.

In no particular order here are the 2011 PR33.

Digital Marketing Mercenary On Twitter: http://twitter.com/Steveology
If you can only read one blog and follow one person on Twitter – then the artist formerly known as TheRealPRMan is the guy. He just does it right and he does it well. His blog contains the ideal mix of education, personality, encouragement and entertainment.

From A to Z GroupPR On Twitter: Jules Zunich
If you’ve ever read my blog, Jules’ name appearing on this list is no surprise. From the first time I read her stuff, I was a fan. She is smart, funny and genuine. I’ve got more good things to say about her, but that should give you an idea of why she is on this list.

Public Relations and Managing Reputation On Twitter: Craig Pearce
If I ever get to the other side of the world – where Craig lives – he is the first person I’m looking up to have a beer (or two or three) with. He just seems like that type of quality guy that you could talk to for hours. He is honest, insightful, has a good sense of humor and a way with words that I wish I could emulate.

Ishmael’s Corner On Twitter: Lou Hoffman
The story-teller. This guy is smart. Okay, so I realize that you don’t get an international PR agency named after you for being dumb, but you can’t connect with Lou without quickly being struck by how intelligent he is. As I told him during the #444PR series, every time I read his posts I find myself saying, ‘man, why can’t I write like that’ or ‘hey, that is exactly what I wanted to say – only better.’

Conversation Agent On Twitter: Valeria Maltoni
Without a doubt a must read blog. In addition to reading her valuable insights and opinions blog visitors need to also be sure to spend some quality time checking out all the great resources including her very complete list of blogs she reads. Did I mention a must read.

PR Squared On Twitter: Todd Defren
While I was always a fan of Todd’s work at PR Squared participating in the #444PR series with him gave me an even greater appreciation for the matchmaker largely responsible for the PR and social media marriage. He was blogging and promoting social media before it was cool.

CommunicationsConversations On Twitter: Arik Hanson
He is the founder of Help a PR Pro Out (HAPPO), contributor to Ragan.com, PR Daily, PR Breakfast Club and listed on any number of best of lists. If you can accomplish half of what Arik has done, you’ll have a hell of a career to be proud of.

Journalistics On Twitter: Journalistics
Smart, topical, educational, entertaining…what are you waiting for? Check it out – you won’t be sorry. This blog hits on all topics relevant to today’s communications professional including relationships with journalists, social media and blogging.

The Future Buzz On Twitter: Adam Singer
Adam Singer’s The Future Buzz has long been one of my favorites. His blog provides a great resource for any and all communications professionals. I’ve reread some of his posts over and over – he is that good. Also, a very smart hire by LewisPR

The Human Side of Media and the Social Side of Marketing On Twitter: Danny Brown
There is a theory burning up the Internet that Danny has a team of bloggers locked in his basement, which explains how he cranks out more valuable content than one person should logically be able to do. I hope no one ever frees his army of bloggers because I enjoy their work.

Spin Sucks On Twitter: Gini Dietrich
It would be difficult to make such a must read list without including Spin Sucks. While it is a superior blog and its place on this (and any other) list is well-deserved, honestly it could have made the list for the name alone. Gina is also a must follow on Twitter – 15,000 followers can’t be wrong.

Exploring the Intersection of Communications, Marketing and Social Media
On Twitter: Dave Fleet
Dave Fleet’s blog provides valuable resources, insight as well as lots of blogging and PR advice. Have been a fan of Dave for a while now and was worried that when he joined Edelman’s Toronto office that he wouldn’t have as much time to dedicate to his blog, but I have been pleasantly surprised.

Defining the Convergence of Media and Influence On Twitter: Brian Solis
One of the best ways to get a preview of the communication industry of tomorrow is to pay attention to what Brian Solis is saying today. Also he is pretty entertaining.

Beyond the Hype
While I’m not a huge fan of agency blogs with multiple authors, this one is too good to ignore. Also, unlike many agency blogs that have lots of content but are short on individual personalities, Lois Paul & Partners’ Beyond the Hype is different. In fact, it includes a number of bloggers who could easily make the list on their own. A few of my favorites include Ted Weisman and Don Jennings and Lois herself. (Additional disclosure: I used to work at LP&P)

Learn How Human Business Works Beyond Social Media On Twitter: Chris Brogan
Honestly, I tried to leave off obvious (and easy) selections like Chris Brogan, but at the end of the day I couldn’t do it. So if you want to know where the industry is heading and what your peers are talking about, you need to pay attention to Brogan. Between his involvement in the Human Business Works, CrossTech Ventures, The Pulse Networking not to mention writing books, speaking engagements and tireless tweeting Brogan provides lots of material to learn from.

Flack’s Revenge On Twitter: Bob Geller
In looking for a cool name for my blog (I never found one by the way) I stumbled across Bob Geller’s Flack’s Revenge and quickly said, damn why didn’t I think of that name first. Then as I started to read his stuff, I continued to say, damn I was going to write about that or that is the point I wanted to make. Now over a year later…I’m still reading this stuff and he still beats me to the punch. So, while I may never forgive him for always being one step ahead of me, I have to admit he is a must read.

Sword and the Script On Twitter: Frank Strong
A steady flow of smart topical posts land Frank Strong on this list. I may even incorporate (if he doesn’t mind) his idea of creating an ongoing list of PR pros that deserve more attention. One thing I learned during creation of this list is that there are lots (and lots) of good PR bloggers out there that probably deserve more attention.

PR Breakfast Club
Like agency blogs, group blogs are not my favorite, but like the LP&P blog this one is just too good to ignore. It included contributions from a virtual Who’s Who of PR bloggers – many which are listed individually on this page. Reading the PR Breakfast Club is certainly a good way to start your day.

prTini On Twitter: Heather Whaling
Heather recently launched Geben Communications, but may be best known to many of us as the co-moderator of #pr20chat on Twitter. Having been named one of the top 30 PR experts to follow on Twitter it is no surprise that her blog is also a must read.

One Guy’s Journey On Twitter: Jason Mollica
A top notch blogger. Never self-promotional – not that everyone else on this list is a bragger, but Jason seems particularly modest. He covers a wide range of industry topics from an interesting perspective. He also deserves credit for being very involved in the PR community. In addition to being a HAPPO champion, his Follow Friday profiles are always smart and interesting. He also seems like a guy you could just hang out with and talk about PR, sports, life or whatever. I don’t even hold the Jersey thing against him.

PR at Sunrise On Twitter: Andrew Worob
Andrew Worob reminds me of me when I was younger…that is if I were smarter, more driven, a better writer, and more popular than I really was. Seriously, Andrew’s stuff is a must read especially good for folks that are in the early stages of their PR career. He pulls no punches and is a good role model for up and comers in the industry.

Ink Foundry – Word of Mouth and Social Media Marketing On Twitter: Carin Galletta InkFoundry
File this one under my guilty pleasure – it’s a site I enjoy even though I care little about the restaurant / wine industry (Ink Foundry’s specialty) I find it fascinating. Even if it didn’t have lots of good social media / communications conversations – which it does – it would probably be on the list simply because I enjoy following Galletta so much on Twitter. My Twitter steam would be so dull without her mind-bending inquires like – screw tops or cork? She really makes you think. Check it out and you’ll be hooked too.

PR 2.0 Strategies On Twitter: Deirdre Breakenridge
Another easy decision. Simply put, if you want to keep up with the changes in PR and the move to PR 2.0 there isn’t a more valuable and educational blog than Deirdre Breckenridge’s PR 2.0 Strategies. I hope she is already working on PR’s 3.0 framework.

Silicon Cowboy On Twitter: Dan Holden
This is possibly the most unique blog on the list. Dan Holden writes about lots of different topics including social media, communications and public relations. But in addition to participating in the 444PR blog series, he also seamlessly writes about wireless networking, mobile computing, optical engineering and alternative energy. If I’m ever on a game show and I can call only one person to help me answer a question about anything, Dan’s going to be on my speed dial.

PR in Pink On Twitter: Krista Paplau
This blog came to my attention as a result of requesting nominations for this list. And finding it made the entire (much more difficult than I ever imagined) PR33 process worth the effort. Between the blog’s name, to the Go-Go’s album cover used on its vacation post to the fact that Krista communicates with her mom in the About Me comment section all combine to make Krista extremely likeable and it helps that her blog is entertaining and smart.

Doug Haslam On Twitter: Doug Haslam
Smart and entertaining. Doug is a former high-tech PR flack who has fully immersed himself in social media and therefore provides a very valuable perspective for PR folks looking to integrate social media into PR programs. He is pretty funny too.

PR Newser On Twitter: PRNewserThis one could be categorized more as an industry onlineone could be categorized more as an industry onlinemagazine, but for my money this is a site / blog worth keeping track of regularly. Blog or not, this site provides lots of good information written by a small group of talented writers it provides a good reading at every visit.

Dennis Rutzou PR Blog On Twitter: DennisRutzouPROkay now that I see three agency blogs on the list, I have to rethink my earlier claim of not liking agency blogs. Anyway, this is another good one that breaks the mold of dull personality-free group blogs. There are a number of good posts on DRPR’s blog, but one that garnered a bit of attention recently was the Marketing vs PR, What’s the Difference post. It’s a good read.

PR in Your Pajamas On Twitter: ElenaVerleeAgain, I know I’m not breaking any new ground here with this choice as PR in Your Pajamas is on everyone’s must read PR blog list and it deserves to be so. While its focus is providing practical PR advice to entrepreneurs, small business owners and others interested in do-it-yourself PR, it is also extremely relevant for the most veteran agency and in-house PR staffers.

Jeff Esposito On Twitter: Jeffespo – Previously I wrote about Jeff’s blog as part of AllTop Reading series – as the PR dude at Vistaprint, Jeff’s opinions clearly come from an experienced PR pro that is involved in day-to-day hands on PR and SM.

PR Nonsense On Twitter: March Communications
Another PR agency blog that was just too good to ignore. Good job of commenting on current industry trends and news. Blog includes a healthy combo of traditional PR and social media coverage.

PR Diva On Twitter: PRDivaBlog
The recently re-launched PR Diva blog contains lots of good stuff. Posts include reviews of products that are helpful for PR pros, commentary on events of the day and lots of career and personal development tips.

The Buzz by Mike Schaffer On Twitter: MikeSchaffer – His blend of PR, social media, pop culture and sports makes The Buzz one of the most entertaining blogs to read everyday. While he has written many smart and entertaining posts, his Barney Stinson – My PR Role Model alone makes The Buzz a must read for me. The Buzz is…wait for it…Awesome.

Bonus coverage: Here are two more blogs that I really like and if they become more active I’d fully expect them to make the next addition of the PR33 – lots of potential.

The PR Situation On Twitter: BMorePRGuy recently changed Twitter handle to OffThe_Record
New job, new city and a new blog, okay he has been busy over the past year, so we’ll cut him some slack for not quenching our reading appetite. The PR Situation has some serious potential to be a top must read PR blog. More BMore would BNice – this was so much funnier before he changed his Twitter handle to OffThe_Record, so I guess I should now say more blogs on the record would be appreciated by OffThe_Record. He even changed his Twitter handle with some serious flair with a well-done announcement.

Message & Medium On Twitter: Chris Nahil
Having just launched his Message and Medium blog earlier this summer, Chris hasn’t been at this too long, but having worked with Chris, I’m very optimistic that his humor, unique insight and gift to be able string together a memorable line or two will rocket him to top of the must read category.

No one on this list sucks! That being said, I acknowledge that there are lots and lots of great bloggers that are not on this list. You can’t create this type of list without feeling like you are leaving out some very good people, so please tell me who you would have included in this list.

  1. January 2, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Hi Paul– thanks for the inclusion with so many smart PR/comm folks! I’ve got some updating to do with my Google Reader, as I always appreciate learning from new blogs and sharing ideas and content with others. Hope your New Year is off to a great start 🙂

    • January 2, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      Thanks for taking the time to comment Krista. There are certainly lots of good PR/comms folks that I too need to add to my Google Reader – keeping that updated is tops on my 2011 to do list.

  2. January 2, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Hi Paul – Thank you so much for including me in the 2011 PR33 – the top PR / Communications bloggers! I hope the New Year is happy, healthy and prosperous 🙂

    • January 2, 2011 at 5:59 pm

      Deirdre, thanks for stopping by to comment. Yours is without a doubt one of the industry’s more important blogs to follow. Happy, healthy and prosperous 2011 to you too.

  3. January 2, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I stumbled upon your blog when I saw a trackback to Danny Brown’s “Invitation to Pimp Your Blog”. You see, I’m currently in telemarketing but it is my goal and plan to switch careers and get a job in PR and advertising so I thought I would learn from people who have been doing it right for quite sometime.

    I would like to thank you for the list as I’m sure these folks will help me in one way or another in my journey to learning more about PR and advertising.

    Thanks,
    Jonha

    • January 4, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      Thanks for the comment. Telemarketing is certainly good training for job in PR. Best of luck and hopefully this list was helpful to you.

  4. January 3, 2011 at 2:51 am

    Hi Paul, great list, thanks for explaining why you’ve given these blogs your recommendation. I can count on one hand the number of top blog lists that have given a valuable explanation and haven’t been a thinly veiled attempt to get 10/25/50 popular bloggers to tweet a link.

    • January 4, 2011 at 8:56 pm

      Thanks Mandi. Yeah, There is no doubt that explaining why each blog was selected was the hard part. I was surprised how much time the entire process took, but I’m glad people seem to appreciate it.

      I did worry about making this look like an attempt to have the ‘popular kids’ RT and comment and so I didn’t reach out to everyone on the list. I like to tell people when I write about them, but I don’t want to be one of those guys.

  5. January 3, 2011 at 10:04 am

    Happy New Year, Paul.

    What a great list to start off 2011 with. Thanks again for listing March Communications’ blog, PR Nonsense!

  6. January 3, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Hi Paul,

    Happy New Year! Nice job putting this together, as I think good lists include blogs that are not so well known that expand our perspective and opportunity to connect with more smart folks in our business.

    Cheers,
    Ted

  7. January 3, 2011 at 10:44 am

    I’m speechless, Paul. Thank you so much for including me alongside so many other great industry people.

    @Worob
    PR at Sunrise

  8. January 3, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Paul,

    Thank you does not begin to say how I feel. I’m honored to be mentioned in the same blog as people like Danny Brown, Deirdre Breakenridge, and Arik Hanson.

    Again, my sincerest thanks!
    Jason
    (@JasMollica)

  9. January 3, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    I was so thrilled to wake from my long winters nap to find myself on your awesome list Paul. Thanks so much for including me. You’ve got my favs on here as well as some people I seem to have missed, so this will be my Go To list for 2011. Thanks so much!

    ~ Jules

  10. January 3, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Hey Paul, excellent list, lots of favorites and some new PR bloggers to read and explore too. Thanks and best for 2011!

  11. caringalletta
    January 3, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Wow! Thanks for including me/us. I guess the pressure is one to keep up the witty remarks. Have a great 2011!

  12. January 3, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Wow, Paul. Humbling. Lot of folks on this list I follow and look to for inspiration and good ideas. Thanks for including me. As for the list of PR bloggers, by all means have at it! There are, as you say in this post, a lot of bloggers out there knee deep in the weeds everyday with posts about very real challenges. Cheers!

  13. January 4, 2011 at 11:03 am

    This is one heckuva list and some heavy weight PR blog talent to boot. Glad that I could at least get an honorable mention. I plan to step it more in 2011. Thanks!

  14. January 5, 2011 at 8:58 am

    Hey Paul — Many thanks for the “Message & Medium” mention and I’ll work hard to live up to the expectations in 2011! There are some excellent writers on this list and I’m looking forward to reading them all. This is going to be a very interesting year in the communcations business, I have no doubt.

    Happy New Year and best to you, the fam, and all of your readers.

    Cheers,
    Chris

  15. January 5, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Hi Paul – I appreciate the inclusion and hey, this is my first “Top” list for 2011 so thank goodness I’m not old news anymore 🙂

    What I love even more is discovering new blogs and people to follow. Thanks for putting this together, I look forward to getting to know you better in 2011!

  16. January 5, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    Paul – this is an incredible list and I am honored to 1) be included on it and 2) find some great sites I haven’t been reading! Here’s to an even better 2011!

  17. January 5, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Sorry for repeat posting but seems more conversational over at original post …
    I can’t speak about a lot of these fine folks as the concept of PR blogs tends to make me surf other parts of the Interwebs quickly, but big fan in-person of Jeff Esposito, Brian Solis, Todd Defren (yes, he leaves the office/house sometimes) and Doug Haslam – hey, what’s that Brogan guy doing on this list? 😉 . The first blogger I read was Jeremy Pepper http://pop-pr.blogspot.com and he’s a gentleman to boot.

    Wait, got to add my PR/marketing wing women: Tamsen MacMahon, Amber Naslund, Carissa O’Brien and Meg Fowler.

    Oh yeah, and the man who tried to make Chris Brogan what he wants to be – Julien Smith!

  18. January 5, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Paul,
    Thanks for the inclusion– and for adding some names that aren’t the usual suspects. I guess I should write a new post soon to earn the honor 😉

  19. January 6, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Hi Paul,

    Echoing the other commenters here, thanks so much for including prtini.com on your list. Much appreciated! Happy 2011!

    Heather
    @prTini

  20. January 6, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Nice coverage, but damn. I must blog more. If I did maybe I would have made the list. And, Paul, if you’re ever on the other side of Australia (to Craig) come and have a beer with me. Regards, Greg.

  21. Dan Farkas
    January 11, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Thanks for compiling this list. This will be great for the PR students I’m teaching this quarter.

  22. February 5, 2011 at 4:44 am

    What is it with Australians offering Paul a beer? Anyone would think we’re addicted to the stuff. After mid 30s celsius today, there may be a good reason for that.

    By the way, beer blogging anyone? Surely more important than PR blogging, si?

  23. September 30, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Hey Paul, just found your blog – nice work, but sad to say I didn’t make your list. I’ve subscribed so will be a more regular commenter now xxxx

  1. January 3, 2011 at 4:37 pm
  2. January 5, 2011 at 9:11 pm
  3. May 17, 2011 at 4:06 pm
  4. May 18, 2011 at 11:58 am
  5. December 22, 2011 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

