Home > PR and social media > Open Letter to PRSA

Open Letter to PRSA

October 27, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Dear PRSA, I understand you held a party recently and didn’t invite me. That’s okay, I never told you that I was interested. So, for future reference let me be clear — I want to be invited.

It’s not you it’s me. Okay, maybe this isn’t your fault that I didn’t make it to your party. The fact that you had such a large gathering of PR professionals attending your event, probably proves that you were not keeping it a secret. I know it’s self-centered, but I just thought that after all this time, I’d get a personal invite.

I’ve known you for a long, but I’ve just begun to care.* You may not remember, but we first met in college. We never got together at the time because I assumed you’d always be there for me and honestly I just wasn’t convinced that I needed you. Even when I was out of work earlier in this decade, I wasn’t convinced that you were good for me.

But, I never got over you. While we never made a true connection, I’ve never forgotten you. I’ve looked for you on Facebook, I follow you on Twitter and I’ve been to your website, but seriously, I still know almost nothing about you. Do you have a code of ethics? What is your take on the issues of the day like social media, ghost blogging, astroturfing and ghost tweeting etc. Sure, I could search and I could ask your friends, but honestly after 15 years in the industry, I shouldn’t have to hear these things second hand.

Want you to be happy. Let me be clear, I don’t dislike you. In fact, I have great respect for you and I want you to be successful. Right now you have a tremendous opportunity to become a unifying voice for a rapidly changing industry. But, before I make a commitment, I just want you to convince me that you will seize the opportunity – and if so, please do invite me to be part of it.

Better off without me? Maybe you never reached out to me because you never wanted me. Truth be told, I do have commitment issues and I’ve never been much of a joiner, so maybe we are not meant for each other. That would be fine, but we won’t know unless we try. I’m starting the conversation and the rest is up to you.

*Lyrics from Michael Nesmith’s Propinquity.
  1. October 27, 2010 at 2:17 am

    PAUL – YOU’RE INVITED!!!

    WHAT: 2011 PRSA International Conference

    WHEN: Oct. 15-18, 2011

    WHERE: Orlando, Fla.

    FUN ACTIVITIES! Meet industry thought-leaders, engage in beneficial professional networking, reconnect with former colleagues and much more!!!

    Regrets only: keith.trivitt@prsa.org

    We also have several other exciting and informative conferences throughout the year. Here’s the link for more info: http://ht.ly/2ZRre

    How can PRSA help you and your colleagues? Great question … here’s a few examples: http://ht.ly/2ZRMt

    And if you’re seeking info on how PRSA is helping to build the value of PR in the business community, please check out our “Business Case for Public Relations” http://ht.ly/2ZRum

    And here are examples of PRSA viewpoints on social media, ghost blogging, astroturfing and ghost tweeting and several other pertinent industry issues: http://ht.ly/2ZRxc & http://prsay.prsa.org/

  2. October 27, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Wow – it looks like PRSA wants you back, Paul!
    ~ Jules

  3. Leah
    October 28, 2010 at 12:07 am

    This post cracked me up, Paul! 🙂

  4. October 29, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Paul,
    Given the response from PRSA, I think it’s now true love always!

  5. November 11, 2010 at 1:42 am

    Paul – delighted to hear this. OK, maybe the organization needs to pay closer attention to its CRM, especially the transition from PRSSA/college to professionals. I wasn’t a member in college, and only joined in the past few years when I found the PRSA’s professional interest sections. There are many new and long term “checkbook members” who pay dues every year, but never get involved. I wouldn’t be where I am in my career today without the support, professional development and education, advocacy, and networking opportunities that I’ve had access to via my involvement with the PRSA.

    Rich Teplitsky, Chair
    Technology Section, PRSA &
    Vice President, Lois Paul & Partners – Austin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

