Home > blogging > This Blog Doesn’t Have a Plan

This Blog Doesn’t Have a Plan

October 17, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I don’t have a social media plan — and I’m proud of it.


DISCLAIMER: Now, let me be VERY clear, I’m not holding this little hobby of a blog as an example to be followed – all I’m saying is that sometimes action is more effective than planning – shocking stuff I know. Also, I realize that a corporate blog needs more planning than a personal blog that is read by numbers that I could count on one hand. And finally, I’m not saying that plans are inherently bad.


Okay, now that I got that out of the way, here is a look a one PR guy’s plan-free social media experience. Concerned about the future of the PR industry, the impact of social media was having and how folks like me were under represented in the conversations that were taking place online – I decided to start a blog. The process took about an hour from idea to first post.


Okay, so had I taken the time to map out a plan, I wouldn’t have needed to change the name of the blog (originally Tony Mackey on PR) and tweak the tone and subject matter on the fly, but I would have missed out on what I learned along the way.


In the past year of blogging about PR and communications, I’ve been amazed at what I’ve learned, surprised by how my opinions have changed over the past year, thrilled by the connections I’ve made and humbled by what others have said they’ve learned from me. I wouldn’t be willing to give any of it up even for the best plan.


After my first two months of blogging I wrote PR blog case study – two months on the job in part as a way to share my experiences and also as a reminder for myself. In the past year, this blog and interaction via Twitter has helped me to connect with a number of smart and interesting folks.


My plan-free social media experience has also resulted in this blog being mentioned on LP&P’s Beyond the Hype, Andrew Worob’s backhanded complement at PR at Sunrise, picked-up by Ragan’s Daily newsletter and mentioned in Jules Zunich’s PR Road Show and other PR Rescue Missions has resulted in my posting a guest blog (also thanks to Jules).


Most recently I was fortunate enough to participate in Steve Farnsworth‘s brainchild 4/4/4 blog series with Lou Hoffman and Todd Defren. As a result of that blogging, Ink Foundry included me on of its list of 25 Social Media Leaders to Watch.


This may not be a huge success by most people’s standards, but whereas I have maybe a couple of hours a week to devote to this blog, all of these experiences could very easily have been missed by drafting up a plan.

 

Again, plans are not bad, but sometimes the best social media plan is to skip the plan and simply be social.

 

  1. zgrouppr
    October 19, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Paul ~ What a great idea: skip the plan and just be social. I love it! Not many professionals would feel comfortable doing this (believe me, I know) but I think it has worked for you. Just think, if you had planned it all we wouldn’t be having so much fun.

    Thanks for the nice words!
    ~ Jules

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

