Home > PR and social media > PRs Growing Community…HAPPO & PR Road Show

PRs Growing Community…HAPPO & PR Road Show

February 14, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

This last week have been very interesting. While I’ve always been impressed by the talent within the PR industry, I’ve also never been shy about bringing up the fact that in my opinion we’re a group of individuals that rarely work together to promote our industry and I’ve even accused PR of suffering from industry-wide apathy.

But now, I’m happy to say that we are either seeing the beginning of a PR community or else I was W-w-w-wrong all this time. A couple of events from the past week have helped make me feel optimistic about the future our our industry and has made me feel like I am part of not just a profession, but a growing community.

Help A PR Pro Out — HAPPO is a fantastic idea and has really tapped into the generous giving nature of PR folks. The general idea behind HAPPO is to use the power of community to help current PR job seekers find new positions. For more information about this event you can check out Doug Haslam’s recent blog Help a PR Pro Out Day – February 19 where he discusses the origins of the idea and the ways to participate.

PR Road Show is promoting PR for the greater good. PR Road Show’s goals are to… “educate business leaders on benefits of PR, help them find professionals, and create more opportunities, clients, and jobs for PR pros.” Who isn’t for that? It is like using PR to help the PR industry. What a great idea. I wish I thought of it.

Maybe, just maybe, the PR community has always been there, but what is different is that now I’m just starting to notice. There is no doubt that I feel more involved with the PR community since I started interacting with like-minded folks via social networks and blogs. And the last week was certainly a bit of a milestone for my interaction with the larger community. I guess I got my membership badge.

Last week, my PR Needs More Controversy blog post was picked up by Ragan’s PR Daily newsletter. This exposure generated industry-wide visibility that greatly expanded my social network. While the exposure was cool, more importantly it enabled me to significantly increased my interaction with other PR folks. In just a couple of hours I received comments and tweets from a bunch of PR folks that I’ve since been able to make connections with.

Also last week Jules Zunich’s blog referenced that one of my recent blog posts influenced her thinking about the PR industry. That was very humbling for me. Unlike a lot of PR bloggers out there, I’m not doing this to promote myself in an attempt to drum up business, I’m just blogging to blog. So, to be referenced in this manor is an honor and really makes me feel…well like part of a PR community.

  1. Cole and Lauren
    February 14, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    First off, congratulations on Ragan’s pick up of your PR Needs More Controversy blog post! I really enjoyed reading it!

    I know that social media has helped me to feel more connected to the greater PR community. Chats like #journchat, #prstudchat, and #pr20chat; LinkedIn discussion groups, and blogs have all helped me to get to build new relationships within the community and learn from an ever expanding group of professionals. I hope that we can continue to use social media to build community through events like HAPPO and PR Roadshow!

  2. February 15, 2010 at 1:45 am

    I wish I knew your first name, but thanks CGSM for taking the time to leave a comment. And thanks for the kind words. I haven’t been able to take part in the chats, but I guess I need to do that soon.

  3. Jules Zunich
    February 17, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Hey Paul ~ Since you’re not trying to drum up business for yourself, how about drumming up some business for the rest of us? Kidding aside, thank you for your support and insights. PR people are really great about discussing PR with each other. It’s the non-PR types that need to be included in the conversation.

    Thanks for doing your part.
    ~ Jules

  4. February 20, 2010 at 1:08 am

    You live in a fantsy manor, Mr. Roberts.

    Have you ever considered that a lot of PR people don’t like admitting what they do because there are so many bad PR people out there?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

