Home > PR and social media > 5 Golden Rules of Communications

5 Golden Rules of Communications

January 28, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

There are essays, books, courses, and countless lengthy powerpoint presentation all dedicated to the art of communications, but here are the basic 5 Golden Rules. Follow these and you should be okay.

Number 5 rule of communications – be honest. This is not necessarily based on any moral compass or conscience it is just a fact that the truth is easier to remember than an lie.
 
Number 4 rule of communications – don’t nod it you can wink. This one is courtesy of an old Boston politician Martin Lomasney – “Never write if you can speak; never speak if you can nod; never nod if you can wink.” This could of course be updated with never tweet if you can speak and never email if you can call. The moral of the story is avoid leaving a paper or digital trail if at all possible.
 
Number 3 rule of communications – Repeat, Repeat, Repeat.
Sometimes referred to as the rule of three, this quote comes from Dale Carnegie (hey that rhymes) –“Tell the audience what you’re going to say, say it; then tell them what you’ve said.”
An alternative quote that hits the same point is from Winston Churchill – “If you have an important point to make, don’t try to be subtle or clever. Use a pile driver. Hit the point once. Then come back and hit it again. Then hit it a third time: a tremendous whack.”

Number 2 rule of communications – Less is more. Anyone that has ever worked with me probably will agree that I utilize this rule – sometimes to a flaw. I like this one so much I found three (very short) quotes to articulate the point.
“Talk low, talk slow and don’t say much.” – John Wayne
“Half wits talk much, but say little.” – Benjamin Franklin
“Be Sincere, be brief: be seated.” – Theodore Roosevelt
 
And, the number 1 rule of communications – Know your audience.
Audience: girlfriend“I’m staying home from work because I got sick from the restaurant I went to last night. It’s ironic I got sick because I picked the restaurant. The other guys wanted to go to a strip joint, but I knew that would have been wrong.”
Audience: boss“I won’t be at work today because I’m not feeling well. I think I’m sick from something I ate. Everyone I was at dinner with had the chicken and we all got sick.”
Audience: (other) friend“Dude you missed a great time last night. We smoked, drank and ate chicken wings at Hooters until we all puked, it was awesome.”
Now go forth and communicate.
  1. January 28, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    Looks like someone got a book of quotations for Christmas and just opened it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

