Home > blogging > Now For Something Completely Different

Now For Something Completely Different

December 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This post has little to do with PR, social media or anything else I usually write about. Today is about pointing folks to a blog that I just can’t say enough about – The OCD Diaries written by Bill Brenner.

Some of you may know Bill as the IT security trade journalist (now with CSO and formerly of SearchSecurity). I read CSO (from time to time) and I follow Bill on Twitter because of my job as a high tech (security focused) PR hack. So, when he recently announced that he was launching his own blog about his Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD), I was interested in the opportunity to learn more about a person I’ve worked with a handful of times, but can’t say that I know even the slightest.

In fact, based on my limited interaction with Bill and in following him on Twitter I would have described him as humorous and laid back, little did I know that he was suffering with a long line of illnesses.

I need to make this very clear that Bill’s blog is not about looking for pity or bragging about what he has overcome. It isn’t like that.

The more I read Bill’s blog and looked into his bio I was struck by the fact that he is about my age, lives in the same area, he was editor at a newspaper that I work at as a stringer / glorified intern and he went to the same college, listens to the same 80s era metal bands and there are a number of other similarities in our family life, but happily for me, the similarities end there.

  • If you are a security PR person that pitches Bill – his blog is a must read to gain valuable insight into Bill’s personality. It reminds us that the people on the receiving end of our emails and phone calls are, well, people.
  • If you know anyone with OCD or any similar illness, I’d suggest this blog as a resource.
  • If you are simply a human being with human flaws – I’d suggest you give it a read.

Bill writes about everything – his childhood, his addictions, his losses, Metal, his heartache – everything. I hope this blog is very therapeutic for Bill and I wish him well he helps me keep my minor challenges in perspective.

I’m sure I’ll pitch Bill again in the future and it will be a purely professional exchange, but I’ll do so feeling as if I know him a little bit better.

Rock on Bill.

  1. Bill Brenner
    December 23, 2009 at 5:32 am

    Thank you, my friend. 🙂

  2. January 6, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    One thing I’ve noticed in the last 10 years of doing PR is that although we work in public relations, we don’t exactly build relationships with reporters outside of the work context. It’s the times. Reporters and bloggers are too busy, too few writers left with ever expanding beats as the loss of ad dollars has decimated the publishing business.

    You really can’t pick up a phone now, call a reporter and ask, “What are you working on?” And it’s rare that you ask questions about anyone’s life. In part, the medium is to blame. Today, most communication takes place over some Web enabled channel, mediums devoid of idle chat.

    Media relations is different now. Thanks for reminding me that the person on the other side of the Internet pipe has a life too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

